Book Review: Ensnared

ensnaredEnsnared

By A. G. Howard

Series: Splintered #3

Publisher: Amulet Books

on January 6th, 2015

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

5-stars

 

Overview: After surviving a disastrous battle at prom, Alyssa has embraced her madness and gained perspective. She’s determined to rescue her two worlds and the people and netherlings she loves. Even if it means challenging Queen Red to a final battle of wills and wiles . . . and even if the only way to Wonderland, now that the rabbit hole is closed, is through the looking-glass world—a parallel dimension filled with mutated and violent netherling outcasts.
In the final installment of the wildly popular Splintered trilogy, Alyssa and her dad journey into the heart of magic and mayhem in search of her mom and to set right all that’s gone wrong. Together with Jeb and Morpheus, they must salvage Wonderland from the decay and destruction that has ensnared it. But if they succeed and come out alive, can everyone truly have their happily ever after?

Review: I was so excited about this book that I had to stop in the middle of my current read so I could devour this entrancing and magical book. Upon opening the cover I was pleasantly surprised to see that the whole book was written in red ink. RED. It was such a lovely touch. I barely put down the book and was finished in less than 24 hours. Not that it’s a short book, because it’s almost 400 pages long. I was so wrapped up in the story that little else mattered. I followed Alyssa and co through the worlds of the looking-glass and wonderland in an attempt to find her mother and undo all the destruction done to the colorful lands. I recommend having tissues near by. I cried on a few occasions. The ending came all too quickly and I’m sad this is the end of Alyssa’s adventures. I may be more sad  that this is the end of Morpheus… I choose you!

If you like Alice in Wonderland and/or fairy tale retold with a twist this is a series for you. Five stars to Ensnared! I have a funny feeling this series will be on my re-read list by the end of the year.

Leave a Reply

